FAQ
It is currently Sat May 27, 2017 3:41 pm

atom12345
Post  Post subject: Fire Suppression System with A Chemical Reaction: Project  |  Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:10 am

I'm a high school sophomore and my Chemistry teacher assigned me the following project:

I have to create a fire suppression system using baking soda (NaHCO3) and hydrochloric acid (HCL). I have to simulate a flammable facility, using a 15cm by 30cm by 10cm 3D cardboard structure. In this structure, I will have to have 8 "rooms", where a candle will be placed and lit. There is no roof or floor for the cardboard cutout. I have to develop an automatic fire suppression system that will be triggered by one or more candle flames. The trigger mechanism will cause the 1M HCl solution and the NaHCO3 to mix, ultimately producing CO2. I will also have to build a delivering system which will deliver the CO2 into the box to extinguish all 8 candles within one minute.

I also have to use Stoichiometry to calculate how much baking soda and hydrochloric acid I will need in order to produce a calculated amount of carbon dioxide.

I need help thinking of a system that will be able to do this (the triggering, the mixing, and the delivering system). This project is worth a hefty amount of points for my class. This is also my first post in this forum, so I'm really looking forward to your responses!

Thanks in advance!

iNow
Post  Post subject: Re: Fire Suppression System with A Chemical Reaction: Projec  |  Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:54 am
Original Member
Original Member

Well, you need a trigger. Something the candle flame will melt or cause to expand/open, and that trigger needs to release whatever you're using get to separate the chemicals while they're being stored... hence they mix and flow into the rooms.