FAQ
It is currently Sun Apr 30, 2017 3:06 am

LilSaber
Post  Post subject: Hi. I'm not good at subject lines.  |  Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:51 pm

Hello, I'm a student for whom science has mainly been a hobby up until now. I have been considering pursuing a science major but to be honest I'm not sure it's for me. I'm also very intimidated by the male-dominated atmosphere. I don't mean to be offensive but that's honestly how I feel. Well I'm quite young so I have time to figure it out. I'm 19 currently. (: I hope I'll be welcome here.

M_Gabriela
Post  Post subject: Re: Hi. I'm not good at subject lines.  |  Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:00 pm

Hello. Welcome!
Experience gives you confidence. You need time... you are very young.
Good luck

Falconer360
Post  Post subject: Re: Hi. I'm not good at subject lines.  |  Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:06 pm
Original Member
Original Member

Welcome to the forum!
You're still young, so you have plenty of time to figure out what you want to do. I suggest seeking out people in whatever scientific fields you're interested in and ask if you can do job shadows. It's a good way to see the daily workings of many fields. I had a student do a job shadow with me last summer, she was interested in paleontology.

LilSaber
Post  Post subject: Re: Hi. I'm not good at subject lines.  |  Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:22 pm

Hello to both of you and that's really cool you got a paleontology student. I like many disciplines. I'd like to do something that makes life better for people. Ugh, I don't know. It's hard to figure it all out.

Falconer360
Post  Post subject: Re: Hi. I'm not good at subject lines.  |  Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:57 pm
Original Member
Original Member