FAQ
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:57 am

PhDemon
Post  Post subject: How Life Started  |  Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 1:31 pm

A good overview of current thinking on how life on Earth started:

http://www.bbc.com/earth/story/20161026 ... arth-began

Maybe I'm biased, John Sutherland who is quoted quite extensively was my organic chemistry tutor when I was an undergrad ;)

- Kurt Vonnegut, The Sirens of Titan

Zinjanthropos
Post  Post subject: Re: How Life Started  |  Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 5:01 pm
Original Member
Original Member

Very cool PH. A lot of scrolling at this end but worth the read. Some of the early stuff I've seen before but what I can't get over is the knowledge level of chemistry one must possess in order to conduct first life experiments. For some reason I liked the part about clay and membranes. Does it mean life is more likely to form if a planet has a volcanic environment?

"Science is much better than religion because our faith is shakeable. There can be something I believe with all my heart to be absolutely true, and the minute there's evidence that it isn't true, I throw it out like yesterday's garbage"-Krauss

marnixR
Post  Post subject: Re: How Life Started  |  Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 5:55 pm

imo what we need for life as we know it is : (1) water at the triple point, i.e. liquid, gaseous and solid (2) a magnetic field so not too much water dissociates in the upper atmosphere; and (3) plate tectonics which keeps the volcanic resurfacing going at a regular pace (and which probably needs sufficient liquid water to form oceans)

PhDemon
Post  Post subject: Re: How Life Started  |  Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2016 6:42 pm

Zinjanthropos wrote:
Does it mean life is more likely to form if a planet has a volcanic environment?

I don't know about "more likely" with a sample of one making probability calls is tricky! There is certainly intriguing research indicating that's how it happened here though.

marnixR