FAQ
It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 3:08 pm

mmatt9876
Post  Post subject: Java or C++ for Game Programming?  |  Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 12:19 am

Between Java and C++ which of these two languages is better for game development? I am a beginner hobbyist programmer who knows a little bit of Java and C++ so far. I want to make my own 2D games, to start off with, and then create my own 3D games after I have some experience making 2D games.

If you guys know of any better languages for game programming than Java or C++ please let me know. (I have heard of other computer languages like Python, Ruby, and JavaScript being used for game development but I do not know if they are better than Java or C++ for game development)

marnixR
Post  Post subject: Re: Java or C++ for Game Programming?  |  Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:05 am

unfortunately I only have first-hand knowledge of Java, so not in a position to compare
I'd say the only way to find out is to try the same job using both tools, and see which seems to suit best (always bearing in mind that certain games may work better in C++, and some in Java)

mmatt9876
Post  Post subject: Re: Java or C++ for Game Programming?  |  Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 2:54 pm

marnixR wrote:
unfortunately I only have first-hand knowledge of Java, so not in a position to compare
I'd say the only way to find out is to try the same job using both tools, and see which seems to suit best (always bearing in mind that certain games may work better in C++, and some in Java)

I like Java because of its portability but I have read that it can run slow for games sometimes. C++ is not as portable as Java but I believe it runs better when one codes with it properly.

marnixR
Post  Post subject: Re: Java or C++ for Game Programming?  |  Posted: Thu Jun 23, 2016 6:06 pm

is that because of an inherent build property ofJava, or could also be faster if you knew how to write it in a more lightweight fashion ?

mmatt9876