FAQ
It is currently Sat Jul 22, 2017 12:54 pm

Snafuperman
Post  Post subject: Journalists really don't have a handle on Mars opposition  |  Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 2:51 am

I had to laugh when I saw an internet news headline (think it was CNN) that stated something like "Don't forget! Mars is closest to Earth. Go out and see it without a telescope."

Mars is ALWAYS visible without a telescope, unless it's in conjunction on the far side of the Sun. It's brighter now, since it's at opposition, and this is a very favorable opposition. The ancients saw Mars (along with Mercury, Venus, Jupiter, and Saturn) without a telescope.

I know people are going to go out tonight thinking that Mars will be as large as the full Moon.

(I'm an amateur astronomer -- have been for 47 years now.)

iNow
Post  Post subject: Re: Journalists really don't have a handle on Mars oppositio  |  Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:33 am
Original Member
Original Member

Click bait culture. Framing the issue properly would result in lower awareness and ever fewer people going outside and looking up.

Thanks for the reminder, btw!

"[Time] is one of those concepts that is profoundly resistant to a simple definition." ~C. Sagan

iNow
Post  Post subject: Re: Journalists really don't have a handle on Mars oppositio  |  Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:42 am
Original Member
Original Member

Jupiter and Saturn came out to play tonight, too.

"[Time] is one of those concepts that is profoundly resistant to a simple definition." ~C. Sagan

Snafuperman
Post  Post subject: Re: Journalists really don't have a handle on Mars oppositio  |  Posted: Wed May 25, 2016 3:55 am

iNow wrote:
Click bait culture.

Yeah, I know. I really despise being fooled by "teaser" news headlines. It's one of my pet peeves. The only news site I've found that doesn't do that is the NYT site -- but you have to pay monthly for full use -- and I won't do that. Some internet news sites are worse than others but they are all bad.