FAQ
It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:34 am

Zinjanthropos
Post  Post subject: Does Space Move?  |  Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 6:19 pm
Original Member
Original Member

I always say space instead of space time. Something I've always done, easier to type. Why isn't space time one word? Is space/time acceptable?

I might be asking a lot in this thread and I've probably used some bad terminology, added some misunderstandings and misconceptions, but I'm no expert. I understand in the presence of mass that space is bent, twisted, stretched, etc. I imagine once the mass has moved through a particular region then that space that suffered the distortion would also return.

Anyways, other than that, it appears as if space is stationary. Maybe it does move and perhaps undetectable, don't know and it's what I'm asking. Of course space is expanding also, galaxies are flying apart from one another. Here's where I get confused: If I have two stationary objects in space (no forces acting upon them) and the distance between them is increased then would the two objects be moving and if so relative to what?

Here's another thing, if space can be increased then it should also be able to be decreased, no? I mean starting with a certain amount of space and then taking some away. But if space is for all intents stationary then how do you subtract from or add to, by putting the objects in motion?

"Science is much better than religion because our faith is shakeable. There can be something I believe with all my heart to be absolutely true, and the minute there's evidence that it isn't true, I throw it out like yesterday's garbage"-Krauss

marnixR
Post  Post subject: Re: Does Space Move?  |  Posted: Mon May 02, 2016 7:05 pm

I'm not even going to pretend that I understand how space really expands, or is capable of shrinking again if the conditions are right
I never found the balloon analogy very helpful to get a feel for how space itself (as opposed to the objects inside it) changes