FAQ
It is currently Wed May 24, 2017 1:27 pm

How many hours a week do you put towards your 'research'?  Poll ended at Mon Oct 12, 2015 7:33 am
Less than 10 0% 0  0% 
11 - 20 0% 0  0% 
21 - 30 0% 0  0% 
31 - 40 100% 1  100% 
41 - 50 0% 0  0% 
51 - 60 0% 0  0% 
61 - 70 0% 0  0% 
71 - 80 0% 0  0% 
81 - 90 0% 0  0% 
91 - 100 0% 0  0% 
Total votes : 1

Umaapow
Post  Post subject: Hello  |  Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 7:33 am

Hello everyone,

I am a psychology student. I hope to one day be a contributor to science.
I studied proofreading, specifically error detection of adjacent letter transposed letter word errors in proofreading during my undergraduate studies. It was more like a pilot study and was never published.
I am currently in the process of finishing up my master degree in industrial organizational psychology: organizational behavior.
During the last year, i've been much more interested in the cognitive psychology, specifically Decision making, judgement, and choice. So, i've been sort of going off track from my social/behavioral focus in my program.

I've been heavily influenced by Chester Barnard, Herbert Simon, and Kahneman & Tversky. Barnard has been renown for his insightful contributions to organizational theory, Simon as well. However, the earlier work of Simon that contributed towards organization behavior has also pointed towards more work in cognitive psychology. Which leads me to the works of Kahneman and Tversky who, in a way, carried the 'baton' in their published work regarding judgement under conditions of uncertainty.

So this is my influence most recently. I have studied some social psychology, but much of it has been experience in small groups. I hope to speak with many of you and to be inspired by your ideas, as i am sort of hung in my own incoherent thoughts.

iNow
Post  Post subject: Re: Hello  |  Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2015 2:01 pm
Original Member
Original Member